Skip to content

Alyssa Crawford she/they
Director of Community Programs

15 Questions with Alyssa Crawford

Briefly tell us about your background: where did you grow up, where did you go to school, and what brought you to Venture Outdoors
I was born in Alabama and moved 10 times around the country. I graduated from the University of Florida before settling down in Pittsburgh in 2011. I joined Venture Outdoors to help connect folks to the outdoors!

Describe your role at Venture Outdoors in 10 words or less.
Managing volunteer trip leaders

What does “getting outside” mean to you?
Spending time in nature

If you had to pick only one recreational activity to practice for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?
I would have to choose hiking because it requires little gear and can be practiced just about anywhere. The speed and intensity can be adjusted and you can stop to smell the flowers.

What is the craziest thing you have done?
In my younger, less discerning days, I traveled on a very small boat across the Mekong River as a thunderstorm was brewing. I got caught in the storm and had to bail out the boat, almost destroying my passport in the process.

What are your top five favorite outdoors/travel destinations?
Salt Lake City, Utah, Phoenix, Arizona, Newport News, Virginia, and Twin Falls, Idaho. I have family in all of these beautiful areas across the country. My favorite outdoor destination nearby is McConnells Mill.

What is your favorite forest/camping snack?
Dried mangoes and takis

Name three people in history (dead or alive) with whom you would want to take on a Venture Outdoors program of your choice.
Angela Davis, Lynn Hill, and Issa Rae

What is your favorite Venture Outdoors memory?
I tried stand up paddling boarding for the first time a few years ago in North Park. I love learning new things and it was a beautiful and peaceful morning on the lake.

Describe your dream Venture Outdoors program/outing.
My dream outing would involve a picnic and bike riding along the river trails with friends and family with the option for a longer ride on the GAP trail and an overnight at Dravo Cemetery.

What is the earliest memory you have of being outside?
One of my earliest memories of the outdoors was playing in a small creek near my home in the suburbs of Atlanta. I loved playing in the water and I have fond memories observing the tadpoles, crayfish and water striders.

What would the title of your autobiography be?
Tiny Changes to Earth

Any hidden talents?
I can bust out a pirouette and some other ballet moves when the mood strikes.

What is your favorite song (or album) right now?
War on Women’s Capture the Flag

What is your biggest challenge nowadays?
Balancing my own needs with the needs of my family along with work responsibilities.

Back To Top